SEAOSD Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards

SEAOSD Members: 2018 Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards - Call For Entries

It’s not too early to start preparing for the 2018 Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards!  

Please click here to download the entry packet.
Need a word doc of the entry form click here.

Entries are due Thursday April 26th, 2018


The SEAOSD Awards entry process has been combined with the state level SEAOC Awards program as of 2017.  This new integrated program is now a two-tiered process to truly reveal the best of the best of structural engineering excellence in California. 

The SEAOC/SEAOSD Awards entry fee is $150.  No additional entry fee will be required for advancement to the SEAOC Awards.   

SEAOSD is proud to announce a few key changes this year…

1)      Projects must be submitted to the SEAOC/SEAOSD Awards program.  There will no longer be a separate application for the SEAOC Awards including past regional award recipients not previously submitted to the state level.   

2)      Projects that win an Award of Excellence only at the SEAOSD Awards will be automatically advanced to the SEAOC Awards program.  Awards of Merit recipients will no longer be considered at the state level.  

3)      The entry categories have been consolidated into (6) categories at the regional level, eliminating the Sustainability and Landmark categories.  The state level entry categories are further consolidated into (3) categories as outlined in the entry packet.

For questions and additional information, see the entry packet and/or contact the Awards Committee Chair, at


The Structural Engineers Association of San Diego (SEAOSD) congratulates and acknowledges four
recipients of the 2017 Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards. Recognition was given for
creativity and innovation in design, efficiency in use of materials and labor, suitability of the design to the performance objectives of the project, and addressing any unusual challenges of the project.

Project submissions were judged by a panel of three structural engineers:
Jim Stenger – Principal at Curry Stenger Engineering,
Lisa Bridge – Associate at Miyamoto International, Inc.,
Chad Closs- Associate at Degenkolb.

Award of Excellence in Retrofit / Alteration
Naval Hospital Twentynine Palms
Structural Engineer: Reid Middleton
Owner/Client: NAVFAC Southwest, Coastal IPT
Architect: Vasquez Marshall Architects
Contractor: Peter Vander Werff Construction

"Clean and elegant structural solution installed in an
operating Naval Hospital."-Judges

Award of Excellence in New Construction
i3 San Diego
Structural Engineer: Hope-Amundson
Owner/Client: BioMed Realty
Architect: Perkins + Will
Contractor: McCarthy Building Companies

"Great expression of architectural form using concrete
structural elements in a prominent location." - Judges

Certificate of Merit in Retrofit / Alterations &
People’s Choice Awards
Hotel Churchill
Structural Engineer: KPFF Consulting Engineers

Owner/Client: San Diego Housing Commission
Architect: Studio E Architects
Contractor: Allgire General Contractors

"Innovative use of multiple solutions to complex
structural problems." - Judges

Certificate of Merit in Infrastructure
Emergency Wharf Repair at North Embarcadero
Structural Engineer: Moffat & Nichol
Owner/Client: Port of San Diego
Architect: None
Contractor: R.E. Staite Engineering, Inc.

"Excellent response to a high-profile emergency repair
project." - Judges

Click here to see the pdf copy for the 2017 Winners

Past winners are listed below
Click here to see the pdf copy for the 2016 Winners

Click here to see the pdf copy for the 2015 Winners